New Bishop Announced

bishop deshotelsOur Holy Father, Pope Francis, today named the Most Reverend J. Douglas Deshotel as the seventh Bishop of the Diocese of Lafayette.  Bishop Deshotel has been serving as Auxiliary of the Diocese of Dallas since 2010.  We are sincerely grateful for the devoted service of Bishop Michael Jarrell who has served as our Ordinary for the last fourteen years.

Update:  An 11 am press conference at Immaculata Center will be streamed live — click here to access.

Info on Past Bishops of the Diocese of Lafayette, est. 1918

Auxiliary Bishop J. Douglas Deshotel was born on January 6, 1952 in Basile, Louisiana, as the third of eight children to Welfoot Paul Deshotel and Luna Marie Manual.
After attending Immaculata Minor Seminary High School in Lafayette, he went on to attend Holy Trinity Seminary in Texas, where he earned a BA. in Philosophy, and a Masters of Divinity from the University of Dallas.
On May 13, 1978, he was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of Dallas by Bishop Maurice Schexnayder in his hometown church of St. Augustine’s in Basile. On April 27, 2010, he was ordained as Auxiliary Bishop of Dallas by Bishop Kevin J. Farrell in the Cathedral Shrine of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Guadalupe.
His assignments have included associate pastor and pastor of various church parishes throughout the Diocese of Dallas, as well as Vice Rector of Holy Trinity Seminary in Irving, Texas.
Additionally, he has served on the Diocesan Presbyteral Council; Diocesan Priests’ Personnel Board; Diocesan Finance Council; Bishop’s Senior Staff; Diocesan Review Board; Diocesan College of Consultors; and Region X Chairman, USCCB.
On February 17, 2016, it was announced that Auxiliary Bishop J. Douglas Deshotel has been appointed to serve as the seventh Bishop of the Diocese of Lafayette.

Curriculum Vitae
Coat of Arms